How do you want to be remembered?

remembered

In my role as a high school Assistant Principal, I am also a grade coordinator. I met my “class” almost three years ago when they started grade 10. These kids (almost 300 of them) are now in grade 12 and they will be graduating this month. Over the course of the last three years, I have asked students many times (individually and at student assemblies), “How do you want to be remembered when you leave this high school?” I go on to explain to them that they are in charge of how they will be remembered by their attitude and their actions.

Now, as I leave this high school as an administrator (yes…the phone rang and I am moving to a different school), it is time for me to answer the question, “How do I want to be remembered?”

  • I want to be remembered as an educational leader who trusted teachers, empowered them to be better, and gave them opportunities to lead.
  • I want to be remembered as a technology leader who showed teachers (and students) that technology does not have to be scary. Hopefully, I was able to show that technology is a tool which helps us to learn.
  • I want to be remembered as a guy who had positive relationships with the entire school community…students, parents, staff, custodians, maintenance employees, contractors, bus drivers, neighbours, alumni, etc.
  • I want to be remembered as a leader who had vision and values.
  • I want to be remembered as a guy who was easy to talk to and was approachable.
  • I want to be remembered as a guy who “got things done”.
  • I want to be remembered as an administrator who could help learners of all ages solve their problems without jumping in and solving the problem for them.
  • Most importantly, I want to be remembered as a guy who cared about kids.

I guess it is only fair that I answer my own question. How do you want to be remembered at your school?

About Derek Hatch (Hatcherelli)
Assistant Principal and Technology Leader in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

2 Responses to How do you want to be remembered?

  1. As a school Principal that just finished my first year, I think your blog speaks to exactly how I want people to think of me. Best of luck as you start a new journey at a new school.

    • I’m happy that my post resonated with you. I wonder if my answer to the question would have been the same three years ago. Maybe as I make my change to my new school, I should “begin with the end in mind” and start by answering the question, “How do I want to be remembered?”
      Thanks for your kindness!
      Derek

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 920 other followers

