It’s all about the kids!

There are so many times that we, as educators, find ourselves at a crossroads, trying to decide what to do.  Teachers and administrators make hundreds of decisions every single day.  Some of these decisions are tough to make because they may not be good for everyone.  At this time of year, we are trying to make budgetary decisions about possible cuts to programs, activities, etc.

To guide me through tough decisions, I always reflect on some words that were shared with me when I was a young teacher.  “It’s all about the kids.”  When making a decision, I always try to ask myself, “Is this decision best for kids?”  Many times, asking myself this question helps me to remember why I became a teacher…because I care about kids!  So often, we make decisions based on what is easiest, or what is best for teachers but we need to remember why we teach.

It’s all about the kids!

About Derek Hatch (Hatcherelli)
Principal in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

2 Responses to It’s all about the kids!

  1. Curtis says:

    Every time, I come faced with the chance that I won’t be at a school the next year, or that after seven years of successful teaching, I still don’t have any stability in my career, I have to think why do I do this? And then a kid makes me laugh, has an a-ha moment, finally gets it…and I get that little tweak that’s a gently mixture of satisfaction, gratification and a little bit of awe. And that’s why I teach…It is about the kids.

  2. Hatcherelli says:

    Thanks for the comment, Curtis…much appreciated. You are right, we are truly pleased to be part of our student’s lives…it is awesome to watch them grow and learn.

Leave a Reply

