New Tool – InstaGrok

For those of you who loved Google Wonder Wheel, you are going to love InstaGrok! This is a great search engine and learning tool for students and teachers. After you quickly sign up for a free account, you can start to learn about anything that you want.

For example, let’s say I want to learn about plant cells. Next, I will get a visual similar to Wonder Wheel, breaking my search topic into subtopics…vesicle, cell wall, mitochondria, etc.

On the right side, I see Key Facts…these facts change as I click on the subtopics. Also, on the right side I can search Websites, Videos, and Images. Each video has a word cloud which, at a glance, tells me about the content of the video.

The most impressive part of the site experience is that I can take a quiz about the content that I am reading. Teachers can set up classes and have their kids log in using the class code. This way, teachers can see how there kids are doing. I would like to encourage teachers to try this and let me know how it goes.

InstaGrok also has a Journal feature. I can take notes as I learn and the notes will stay on the site for the next time I log in.

Instagrok is an awesome tool. Oh right, when we were playing with it today, we found out that it works way better with Google Chrome. Special thanks to Mario Cabral (@MarioCabral) for sharing this great tool with me.
This is a review of Instagrok by Columbia University
Derek

About Derek Hatch (Hatcherelli)
Assistant Principal and Technology Leader in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

One Response to New Tool – InstaGrok

  1. Pingback: Instagrok just got better! « Hatcherelli Blog

Leave a Reply

