Another use for #Evernote

This morning, we sat as an admin team and had our annual meeting to begin the teacher evaluation process.  We agreed that we would each conduct classroom observations of our beginning teachers and share our notes before we write up the formal evaluation report which is due at the end of the school year.  To make our collaboration easier, I thought back to a post that I read a little while back by Nick Provenzano (@thenerdyteacher).  We quickly created a notebook on Evernote for each one of our teachers so that we could each add our observation notes.  We agreed that we would title each note by the date of the observation.  The great thing about Evernote is that it doesn’t matter what device I have with me when I do my observations.  I can post my own notes and I can also review the notes posted by my colleagues.  If I want to take pictures of things in the classroom, I can seamlessly add these photos to my observation notes.  It is so easy to share notebooks using Evernote but, of course, the people that you share with must also have Evernote accounts (which are free!)

I think it would be a great idea for classroom teachers to use Evernote to keep anecdotal records for their students.  Teachers with smaller groups of students could create a notebook for every student.  Teachers working with larger numbers of students could create notebooks for students with special needs or students who are at risk.

It would also be great if students could start to use Evernote.  They could create notebooks for their courses and they could share their notes and reflections.

If anyone has other uses for Evernote, please feel free to leave a comment.

About Derek Hatch (Hatcherelli)
Assistant Principal and Technology Leader in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

4 Responses to Another use for #Evernote

  1. Mme Kathleen says:

    I use Evernote to make e-Portfolios for my kindergarten students. Great parent feedback, perfect to capture things that can’t fit into a paper portfolio in K (like play dough creations, moments of cooperation, millions of drawings, etc.) and both my and my EA can contribute to notebooks. Love them with all my heart!

  2. Nick’s Evernote resources are great! Thanks for sharing this.

    Another idea is to use your phone camera to save to Evernote – if you have an Android or iPhone, it’s usually more than good enough to save copies of handwritten student work just by taking a photo and saving to Evernote.

Leave a Reply

