Today might be the day…

I saw this quote on Twitter today and it struck a chord with me…

When I have connected with former students years later, they always remind me of things that happened when I was their teacher/administrator. Most of these things have nothing to do with the Math that I taught them. It was the things that happened that were funny or were out of the ordinary. Some of the memories happened outside of the classroom…during student council activities or on the basketball court. It was the relationships that I had with these kids that was memorable. Sometimes, it was just simply lending an ear or spending some time helping with a tough concept in another course. Sometimes, it was just being a goof…which I am quite good at. For some, it was giving them food when they were hungry. For others, it was time spent playing guitar or sports together.

What are you doing to give your kids an awesome experience?

 

About Derek Hatch (Hatcherelli)
Assistant Principal and Technology Leader in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

One Response to Today might be the day…

  1. patrycja says:

    I agree with you. It’s not the content, but the compassion students remember.

Leave a Reply

